Report a CCB Concern        Matrix of CCB Referrals        Send your feedback to us


President Rodrigo Roa Duterte will confer the Outstanding Government Workers Award to 27 individuals and three groups during the awards rites on 27 September 2018 in Malacañang.

Leading this year’s awardees are teachers determined to create an engaging, interactive, and supportive learning environment despite challenges of mobile education in far-flung communities. These educators brave steep and narrow mountain trails, neck-deep rivers, and the danger of being caught in the crossfire of armed groups; they also use their personal resources to bring education to remote areas in the country.

Scientists who are determined to address the crisis on the country’s rice industry through their inventions and research work on developing heat-tolerant, good eating quality, high yield, and early maturity rice varieties also made it to the list.

The three award categories to be handed by President Duterte are the Presidential Lingkod Bayan AwardOutstanding Public Officials and Employees or the Dangal ng Bayan Award,and the Civil Service Commission (CSC) Pagasa Award.   


“I am proud to present to the President the gems in public service, the best people to introduce to our fellow Filipinos as catalysts of positive change within the Philippine bureaucracy. They are the heroes in public service, the lingkod bayani who quietly and without fanfare pursued their tasks with indefatigable commitment, excellence, and integrity, to the extent of putting their lives on the line in the spirit of public service,” remarked CSC Chairperson Alicia dela Rosa-Bala.

The Presidential Lingkod Bayan is conferred to an individual or group for exceptional or extraordinary contributions that had nationwide impact. One of this year’s recipients is Supervising Science Research Specialist Michael A. Gragasin of the Philippine Center for Postharvest Development and Mechanization. He designed the Compact Corn Mill and the Impeller Rice Mill enabling faster shift of milling from white rice to brown rice, higher product yield with lesser broken grains and wastage, and lower cost of milling. His initiatives are in line with PhilMech’s Agricultural Roadmap of attaining rice sufficiency for Filipinos.

Other awardees of the 2018 Presidential Lingkod Bayan Award include Director I Sailila E. Abdula of the Philippine Rice Research Institute (PhilRice), Department of Agriculture; Lt Col Ricky P. Bunayog, Assistant Chief of Staff for Operations, G3, 6th Infantry Division, Philippine Army; Professor Gerry A. Camer of the University of Eastern Philippines; Dr. Brigida A. Claro (Posthumous) of the Baguio General Hospital and Medical Center;

Plant Manager Palawan A. Lomondaya of the Agus 1 & 2 Hydroelectric Power Plant, National Power Corporation Mindanao Generation; Chief Science Research Specialist Norvie L. Manigbas of the PhilRice;  Engineer III Marcelino E. Odon of the National Food Authority–Nueva Vizcaya Provincial Office; State University President Honorio M. Soriano Jr. of the Pampanga State Agricultural University; and the VSU Forestal Advocates of the Visayas State University.

The Outstanding Public Officials and Employees or the Dangal ng Bayan Award, on the other hand, is conferred to an individual for performance of extraordinary act or public service and consistent demonstration of exemplary ethical behavior on the basis of adherence to the Code of Conduct and Ethical Standards for Public Officials and Employees.  One of the 2018 Dangal ng Bayan awardees is Laborer I Gelson A. Rili, a street sweeper from the City Government of Marikina. He is awarded for diligently performing his tasks despite dangers and risks posed by his job. His inspiring story includes that of using a makeshift boat made of plastic in transporting residents to safety when floodwaters rose in Tumana, Marikina.

Other recipients of the 2018 Dangal ng Bayan Award are Master Teacher I Windel V. Alvarez of the Tabgon Elementary School, Department of Education (DepEd)–Division of Camarines Sur; Dr. Eva Maria C. De La Paz of the National Institutes of Health, University of the Philippines Manila; State Auditor III Romel C. Espiña of the Commission on Audit Regional Office XIII; Midwife II Laurensa S. Joldanero of the Municipal Government of San Jose, Occidental Mindoro;

Head Teacher I Roderick L. Labay of Apnagan Elementary School, DepEd–Division of Oriental Mindoro; Teacher I Annie Lee C. Masongsong of Labo Elementary School, DepEd–Division of Oriental Mindoro; Administrative Aide I Rey B. Peñaranda, Department of Social Welfare and Development–Field Office VIII in Tacloban, Leyte; Teacher III Lowel Adrian M. Solayao of Pilar National Comprehensive High School, DepEd–Division of Sorsogon; and Provincial Veterinarian Mary Rose B. Vincoy of the Provincial Government of Cebu.

The CSC Pagasa Award is given to an individual or group of individuals for outstanding contributions that directly benefit more than one department of the government. One group awardee is recognized for empowering the indigenous and Muslim communities of the City of Tagum. The efforts of the Tribal and Muslim Affairs Team capacitated traditional leaders to actively participate in city and barangay legislation, and to gain representation in various committees and councils in Tagum.

Awardees of the 2018 CSC Pagasa include Head Carpenter Arnulfo B. Agluba of the Metropolitan Waterworks and Sewerage System–Corporate Office; Principal II Annabelle A. Alipo-On of Payao Elementary School, DepEd–Division of Negros Occidental; Information Technology Officer III Roger F. Barroga of PhilRice; Dr. Marie Charyll H. Jamolo of the Bureau of Jail Management and Penology–Regional Office VI;

Police Chief Superintendent Rodelio B. Jocson of the Philippine National Police; Mayor Albin D. Magdamit of the Municipal Government of Prosperidad, Agusan del Sur; Community Development Officer IV Rhea Jane P. Mallari of the Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority; Midwife I Bhen Zar M. Sam of the Municipal Government of Maco, Compostela Valley; and the Botanical Dewormer Team of Capiz State University.

The annual Search for Outstanding Government Workers forms part of CSC’s Honor Awards Program (HAP), which recognizes government officials and employees who have displayed outstanding work performance and exemplary conduct and ethical behavior. The program aims to motivate or inspire government employees to improve the quality of their performance and instill deeper involvement in public service.

For more details on this year’s awardees, contact the HAP Secretariat at telephone numbers (02) 931-7993, (02) 932-0381 and hotline (02) 931-4180 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.